Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Linux Distro's 

Anyone got any recommendations? I've had little experience with red hat and thats about it, wanna get into it more and learn.

Thu May 10, 2007 8:04 pm

Ubuntu (and derivatives), fedora core, and SUSE are all good starter distros. I personally love ubuntu :)

Thu May 10, 2007 8:23 pm

Ubuntu is very easy to use (from OS install to apt-get), and it's become a big time favorite amongst new Linux users, so it's easy to find advice and guides and troubleshooting help, etc.

Fedora Core is reasonably easy to use, and a perennial academic favorite (no clue why). If you're going to college soon, it's a reasonably good choice (seriously, of the 6 campuses that I've seen, 5 of them support Fedora Core as their Linux distro).

Mandrake is similar to Red Hat, and very flexible. It's a reasonable choice as well, though honestly, I think most of the advantages offered by Red Hat or Mandrake are now also offered by Ubuntu. However, Mandrake transitions better into a powerful distro for experienced users, so that may be good if you plan to get that far into it.

SuSE is supposedly a good choice, but I know jackshit about it.

Debian is neat/awesome, primarily because of its wonderful package management and stability. A bit more of a learning curve than the earlier ones, but I didn't find it so bad. However, I was fairly comfortable with Linux (from a user-on-server-no-root kind of way) already. That said, these days, newbies keep going to Ubuntu instead of Debian because of the former's ease of use (and since it uses the APT for packages too). My warning would be that on Ubuntu, packages have a tendency to conflict and hate each other, which happens much less on Debian (Ubuntu packages are drawn from the unstable branch).